CONDITIONAL SENTENCES

Conditional Sentences / If-Clauses Type I, II und III

Conditional Sentences are also known as Conditional Clauses or If Clauses. They are used to express that the action in the main clause (without if) can only take place if a certain condition (in the clause with if) is fulfilled. There are three types of Conditional Sentences.

Conditional Sentence Type 1

→ It is possible and also very likely that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Present, will-Future

Example: If I find her address, I’ll send her an invitation.

Conditional Sentence Type 2

→ It is possible but very unlikely, that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Past, Conditional I (= would + Infinitive)

Example: If I found her address, I would send her an invitation.

Conditional Sentence Type 3

→ It is impossible that the condition will be fulfilled because it refers to the past.

Form: if + Past Perfect, Conditional II (= would + have + Past Participle)

Example: If I had found her address, I would have sent her an invitation.

Decide whether the following Conditional Sentences are Type I, II or II.

1. If he had dropped the vase, it would have broken.

2. If you have to do the washing up, I will help you.

3. If I had a hammer, I’d hammer in the morning … (song)

4. I wouldn’t run away if I saw a spider.

5. We’d have given you a lift if you hadn’t had your bike with you.

6. If you had listened to me, the accident wouldn’t have happened.

7. If we don’t get tickets for the concert, we’ll stay at home.

8. They’d go by bus if they didn’t have a car.

9. She’ll hear us if you don’t stop laughing.

10. He wouldn’t have taken the bread if he hadn’t been hungry.

Exercise on If Clauses Type I Level: elementary
Exercise 2 on If Clauses Type I Level: elementary
Exercise on If Clauses Type II Level: lower intermediate
Exercise 2 on If Clauses Type II Level: lower intermediate
Exercise on If Clauses Type III Level: intermediate
Exercise 2 on If Clauses Type III Level: intermediate

About YONDY

LET'S LEARN ENGLISH
This entry was posted in GRADE XI, GRADE XII. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

